Batch editing in the Customer Portal¶
Batch editing allows an editor to select an action that should be applied to multiple assets. The action is first verified against all selected assets and any possible errors are reported back to the editor. If all the assets pass verification the editor can run the batch job. Batch jobs can be edited, both the action and which assets it should be applied to, as long as the job has not been started. A job that has been completed can be copied and modify to create a new job.
Supported batch actions¶
It is our goal to continuously add more actions to make managing you assets easier. If you have any specific batch actions that you would like to see please contact your CSM. Supported Actions:
- Add tags: Add one or more tags to the selected assets.
- Remove tags: Remove one or more tags from the selected assets.
Creating a batch job¶
You can create a batch job two ways:
- From MONITORING -> BATCH: A widget for creating new batches is available at the top of the page.
- From CMS -> ASSETS: Select any number of assets using the checkboxes in the list and then clicking the BATCH button at the bottom of the page.
From this point the two methods are the same except that when you create a job from CMS -> ASSETS you can choose to add the selected assets to an existing job or a new job.
Editing a batch job¶
Similar to creating a batch you can edit it in two ways.
- From MONITORING -> BATCH: You can find your job in the list of jobs and click the edit button. You will see the same pop up as you did when creating the job and can navigate through the steps to update the name and description, change the action and remove assets from the job.
- From CMS -> ASSETS: You can add assets to your batch job by selecting them with the checkbox on the left side of the list and then clicking BATCH and selecting an existing job in the dropdown. From this entry point you can not edit the name or description of the job, but you can change the action and remove assets.
Verification and Running a job¶
Each time a job is updated a verification process is automatically started. In MONITORING -> BATCH you can see the status of you batch jobs. By opening the edit pop up you can see more details about why a job failed verification and which assets that failed verification.
If a job has passed verification (indicated by a green checkmark) you can press the play icon to run the job. When the job has completed successfully the status column will show a double-checkmark. If a job fails for one or more assets you can see the details by clicking the edit button. You can see for which assets the action failed.
Copying a job¶
Once a job has been run you can no longer edit it, but if you open the edit pop up you can make changes and create a new job based on the old one. This can be useful if you want to undo a previous batch job or apply the same action to a new set of assets.
Undoing a job¶
If you have run a batch job and want to revert the results you can use the copy function to create a new job with an action that undoes part of or the entire previous action. Eor example: if you have added a tag to a set of assets through a batch job and want to undo that you can create a copy from the job by clicking the edit button. Then you can change the action from Add Tag to Remove Tag and click CREATE. Running this job will then undo the previous one. We will strive to always add actions in pairs to allow you to undo batch edits with ease.